to top 10 table

Best Weider Home Gyms – 2021

last updated: Feb 20, 2021

Weider home gyms are a great option for those that want to build a killer home gym on a budget. What’s important to know about Weider is that they are owned by a brand called ICON Fitness, which also owns well-known brands such as ProForm, NordicTrack, and Lotus.

Weider’s goal is to craft engaging and well-built home equipment that comes in at an affordable price point. They craft a wide variety of workout gear that includes bodyweight machines, weight lifting machines, and miscellaneous workout gear. Their home gyms are built from quality materials with modern features to target all muscle groups.

In this guide, we have compiled a list of some of the best Weider home gym machines to help build out your home gym while taking it easy on your wallet.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 20 hours of research

icon
Ultimate Body Work
98.6/100 our score
Adjustability
99
Ease of Use
99
Features
98
Motion Control
98
Size
99
Ultimate Body Work
Why is it better?

Quality resistance bands

Space saver design

Inclines for greater versatility

Height adjustable for taller/shorter users

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Ultimate Body Work
Test Winner: Ultimate Body Work
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
30
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
13879
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
20
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
10
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Adjustability Ease of Use Features Motion Control Size By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Adjustability
99 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Features
98 %
Motion Control
98 %
Size
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link
$341.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Adjustability
98 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Features
99 %
Motion Control
97 %
Size
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link
$132.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Adjustability
98 %
Ease of Use
99 %
Features
97 %
Motion Control
98 %
Size
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link
$548.00
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
Adjustability
98 %
Ease of Use
97 %
Features
97 %
Motion Control
98 %
Size
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link
$690.70
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Adjustability
98 %
Ease of Use
98 %
Features
96 %
Motion Control
97 %
Size
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link
$129.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Adjustability
98 %
Ease of Use
97 %
Features
95 %
Motion Control
97 %
Size
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link
$99.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Adjustability
95 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Features
95 %
Motion Control
96 %
Size
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link
$325.60
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Adjustability
95 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Features
95 %
Motion Control
95 %
Size
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Adjustability
94 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Features
93 %
Motion Control
94 %
Size
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Adjustability
92 %
Ease of Use
93 %
Features
93 %
Motion Control
94 %
Size
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (26.07.21)
Amazon Link

Weider Home Gyms Reviews

1. Ultimate Body Work

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.6
Weider Ultimate Body Works
Weider Ultimate Body Works
Weider Ultimate Body Works
Amazon Link
Adjustability
99
Ease of Use
99
Features
98
Motion Control
98
Size
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$341.99
Pros:

Quality resistance bands

Space saver design

Inclines for greater versatility

Height adjustable for taller/shorter users

Cons:

Cannot go past bodyweight +50 pounds cable resistance

As the name suggests, this sliding seat Weider home gym unit offers you over fifty exercises for your whole body. Weider added in resistance bands to help you pull more weight and tone your muscles more effectively. Besides those bands, the resistance comes from your own body weight.

Read more

The bands are connected to a cable pulley system, but there are no weight stacks to adjust. You can hit different muscle groups by adjusting the incline of the long rolling bench seat.

The sliding bench design is similar to another home gym staple, the Total Gym. You sit still, facing the front end either straight on or laterally. Pulling on the cables makes you glide back and forth along the steel tracks. The movement is effective, and also quite easy on the joints. Even with the long tracks, the Body Work is a space saver that can be inclined all the way down for storage.

The fully assembled Weider home gym machine is about five feet long, a little over two feet wide, and just four feet long. The steel frame and adjustable design are enough to accommodate tall or curvy users. Weider provides a full-color workout guide, and the Body Work is popular enough that there are plenty of YouTube videos with reviews and exercise ideas.

2. Power Tower

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.2
Power Tower Weider home gym
Weider Power Tower
Weider Power Tower
Amazon Link
Adjustability
98
Ease of Use
99
Features
99
Motion Control
97
Size
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$132.99
Pros:

Hanging front leg kick station

Easy assembly

Wide pull up area

Push up assist with padded handles

Cons:

Dip, pull up bars not adjustable

This is a fairly basic rolled steel bodyweight workout Weider home gym unit, which offers you several ways to target your chest, lats, traps, and abdominals with just a few simple moves. You can do dips, knee raises/kicks from a hanging position, a few different kinds of pull-ups, and, on the floor, a push-up grip station that will enhance your regular push-ups.

Read more

The push-up bars, dip bars, and chin bars all have molded and padded handgrips. The Tower is safe and comfortable to use regularly.

The pull-up station in the back is wide enough to vary your grip width. It lets you drill down on any of your arms, back, or chest muscles, depending on where you place your arms. If you aren't sure where to grab, Weider provides a wall chart with all the different positions and muscle groups. Elbow pads are machine-stitched vinyl, not stapled, giving you more durability.

The Tower is not what we'd call a space saver; its rear chin bar gives it a total length of almost five feet. It is about three and a half feet wide by seven feet tall. With most residential ceilings at eight feet, users over 6.5 feet will have issues both with dip height and with getting an effective chin-up/pull up. User weight capacity tops out at 300 pounds.

3. Pro 6900

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98
Weider Pro 6900 Weight System
Weider Pro 6900 Weight System
Weider Pro 6900 Weight System
Amazon Link
Adjustability
98
Ease of Use
99
Features
97
Motion Control
98
Size
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$548.00
Pros:

Weight stack included

Easy to adjust

Detachable preacher pad

Cons:

Uncomfortable leg pads

This system is a great option for those that want to sculpt a killer upper body. What we loved most about the Pro 6900 is that it is composed of sleek and durable materials that look great in any home gym, and it even includes a weight stack that is super easy to adjust. This system fits a wide variety of lifts into one compact machine that comes in at an affordable price point.

Read more

What users love most about this system is that it includes a 125-pound vinyl-coated weight stack along the back. This stack allows you to quickly adjust the weight to push for heavyweight or engaging in snappy drop sets. Simply pull the pin and move it to the desired weight and get moving!

This system includes a fly bar, a pulldown bar, and a chest press. What makes this machine unique is that it includes a detachable preacher pad and a lower pully for isolated bicep curls as well. The low pulley is also a great way to target your back and lower body with seated rows.

If you are in the market for a compact machine that targets a wide variety of muscle groups that clocks in at an affordable price point, this option is a great choice. We love that it includes a lower pulley system that is great for lower bodywork as well.

4. Weider 2980x

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.4
2980x Weider home gym
Weider 2980 x Weight System
Weider 2980 x Weight System
Amazon Link
Adjustability
98
Ease of Use
97
Features
97
Motion Control
98
Size
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$690.70
Pros:

Weight stack and cable resistance

4 position leg station

Chest fly/press arms

Rounded preacher curl station

Cons:

Lat pulldown won't give all users a full range of motion

This Weider home gym unit resembles a pec deck machine, with a fixed vertical seat, elbow padded handles, and a weight stack offering as much as 214 pounds of adjustable resistance. You get a high pulley/lat pulldown overhead, and a leg station on the front with both ankle and behind the knee pads.

Read more

There is also a removable preacher curl pad, with rounded edges and plenty of padding. With the pulleys, chest fly/press handles, leg attachment, preacher pad, and included low pulley, this is a six-station home gym.

The lat bar lets you adjust your grip, hand positions, and arm span for almost endless variations. The result is customizable comfort and a large array of back and shoulder strengtheners. The low pulley does not have a prescribed range of motion, so you can crosshatch your own routines, using the included wall chart as a foundation.

The user weight capacity for this Weider home gym machine is 300 pounds. The weight stack starts at 81 pounds, but you can add more with the cable settings so your top end of resistance is 214 pounds. Customer reviews are mixed, so this unit did not crack our top three.

5. Pro 265

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.2
Weider Pro 265 Weight Bench
Weider Pro 265 Weight Bench
Weider Pro 265 Weight Bench
Amazon Link
Adjustability
98
Ease of Use
98
Features
96
Motion Control
97
Size
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$129.99
Pros:

Removable preacher pad

Leg station lets you do both curls and extensions

Permanently affixed uprights

Easy assembly

Cons:

400-pound weight combined capacity--not useful for advanced lifters

This affordable, comfortable Weider home gym press bench comes with a standard bar and 80-pound vinyl weight set. It's a great starter model, and you also get a leg station and squarish, removable pad for doing preacher curls. The bench will adjust for flat and incline position, but no decline.

Read more

Fixed uprights let you do bench presses with a trusted spotter, but can't be removed or used as a squat rack on the fly. The wide U-shaped connection between the front and back of the frame is handy because you can grab hold of each side for stability when doing prone leg curls.

Those prone leg curls are really the only time you need to remove the preacher pad. It won't get in the way of bench presses, leg extensions, or any other free weight/bodyweight exercise you can dream up. As they always do, Weider provides a wall chart to help you with those different exercises.

The thickness and wideness of the bench encourage proper form, a foundational lesson for weight training beginners. The Weider home gym bench weighs 130 pounds including the bar and plates. There aren't any wheels, so moving the machine may be hard and you will definitely need to put it in a concrete basement, or the like if you do not have a floor mat. The three feet look like they could do some damage.

6. Pro 255 L

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.4
Pro 255 L Slant Board Weider home gym
Weider Incline Weight Bench
Weider Incline Weight Bench
Amazon Link
Adjustability
98
Ease of Use
97
Features
95
Motion Control
97
Size
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$99.99
Pros:

Decent weight capacity

6 incline/decline/flat positions

Foam rollers lock down legs and feet

Lightweight steel construction

Cons:

Not suitable for barbell exercises

With its full ninety degrees of seat adjustment, this Weider home gym machine lets you go from overhead dumbbell raises to challenging incline crunches with a few clinks of the sundial adjustment system. The seat both delivers a customized fit and helps you practice proper form.

Read more

The four padded rollers up front keep your legs ultra stabilized while you cross your arms and crunch. The vinyl seats are thick, durable, and it will be easy to keep clean over the life of the bench.

The steel frame includes powder coating, for an attractive finish and protection from scratching. There are four points of floor contact with a parallel, cylindrical, ironing board style foundation. The bench weighs just 33 pounds, measuring forty inches long, 18 inches wide, and 54 inches high. Though it's compact, the width of the bench may be a deal-breaker for wider users.

The combined user and weight capacity are 410 pounds. It's plenty for a bench that isn't designed as a heavy lifting platform. User reviews indicate the Weider home gym bench is stable, even when inclined or declined all the way.

7. XRS 20

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Weider XRS 20 Olympic Workout Bench
Weider XRS 20 Olympic Workout Bench
Weider XRS 20 Olympic Workout Bench
Amazon Link
Adjustability
95
Ease of Use
94
Features
95
Motion Control
96
Size
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$325.60
Pros:

Detachable preacher pad and bar

High weight capacity

Wobble-free frame

Affordable

Cons:

Weights not included

No home gym is complete without a durable and sturdy workout bench. What we love most about the XRS 20 is that it can easily be adjusted to help target specific muscle groups, and it boasts a wide frame that is not only wobble-free but also able to accommodate an impressive amount of weight from such a small and compact bench.

Read more

The most notable feature of the XRS 20 is that it is composed of thick and heavy-duty steel tubing that will not wobble under the pressure of high weight. It is also able to accommodate up to 610 pounds, making it a great option not only for weight lifters but bodybuilders as well!

This bench also comes with a few extra features that really help you dig into specific muscle groups. It comes with a detached preacher pad with thick and durable padding, and a curl bar attachment to really target those biceps. It also includes a foam-padded leg developer to work out your lower body as well.

If you are in the market for a great bench, you can’t go wrong with this incredibly versatile design. It is composed of sturdy materials that hold up quite well over the years, and include a few additional attachments to target a wide variety of muscle groups. The only downside to this design is that it requires that users supply their own Olympic-style weight plates.

8. XR 6.1

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.8
Weider XR 6.1 Multi-Position Weight Bench with Leg Developer
Weider XR 6.1 Multi-Position Weight Bench with Leg Developer
Weider XR 6.1 Multi-Position Weight Bench with Leg Developer
Amazon Link
Adjustability
95
Ease of Use
94
Features
95
Motion Control
95
Size
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Easy setup

Leg developer

Adjustable backrest

Wobble-free

Cons:

Weights not included

What’s great about the XR 6.1 bench is that it serves a wide variety of functions in a small and compact package. This bench is one of the most affordable designs out there on the market and includes a few features that make it ideal for weightlifting as well as powerlifting. It’s a cinch to set up and take it easy on your bank account as well.

Read more

Simplicity is the name of the game when it comes to this bench. Users found that it is super easy to set up, even with little to no experience. It includes a set of instructions that is incredibly easy to follow and offers tips on how to get the most out of your machine. If you are worried about the initial setup, this design is a great option!

We also love that this simple bench also includes a rack that is strong, sturdy, and wobble-free. It has adjustable hooks that allow you to place the bar where it is most comfortable for you and has a bench that is able to be adjusted to a variety of incline and decline positions. It even comes with a leg developer to help sculpt your lower body as well.

If you are in the market for something that is simple and affordable, this design is a great option. We love that it clocks in at a super affordable price point, and offers a wide variety of movements that is great for casual weight lifters as well as powerlifters. The only downside to this design is that it requires users to supply their own weights.

9. Power Tower 200

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Weider 200 Power Tower
Weider 200 Power Tower
Weider 200 Power Tower
Amazon Link
Adjustability
94
Ease of Use
95
Features
93
Motion Control
94
Size
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Powder-coated finish

Easy to set up

Comfortable backrest

Cons:

Slightly expensive

Don’t have any weights on hand, and have no interest in investing in expensive plates or weight stacks? If you have a body, you have all of the weight you need! While we have included a simple and affordable power tower on our list, we also wanted to include this upgraded design as well. While it costs almost double the base design, smart design features and heavy-duty materials will quickly make it your go-to piece of home exercise equipment.

Read more

The very first thing that we noticed about this upgraded design is that it is composed of commercial-grade tubular steel with a powder-coated glossy finish. It boasts a wide and sturdy base that is secure even on your struggle-sets, and won’t wobble or shift as you push yourself to your limits.

This design boasts a wide pull-up bar at the top that provides padding throughout the length of the bar to accommodate a variety of hand placements to activate various muscle groups. It also provides a durable padded back and elbow rest that holds up incredibly well over time. This machine is great for dips, knee tucks, and pullups to help sculpt a killer upper body.

If you are in the market for a machine that simply requires your body weight to sculpt muscle, this Power Tower is a great choice. It may cost more than some of the other designs that we have seen, but the additional cost is well worth it if you need something that is super strong and secure, and able to accommodate a higher amount of body weight.

10. XR 5.9

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Weider XR 5.9 Slant Bench
Weider XR 5.9 Slant Bench
Weider XR 5.9 Slant Bench
Amazon Link
Adjustability
92
Ease of Use
93
Features
93
Motion Control
94
Size
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
Pros:

Adjustable backrest

Easy to set up

Wide back

Cons:

Not ideal for taller users

A slant board is a great way to fit in a total body workout with a small and compact machine. What we love most about the XR 5.9 is that it is super easy to set up, doesn’t take up much room, and is able to be easily adjusted for a wide variety of lifts. The best part? It comes in at a super affordable price point that won’t break the bank.

Read more

What makes this board a little different, when compared to other boards in the Weider lineup, is that it is slightly smaller, and is composed of a strong and sturdy frame that stays put while in use. It is composed of commercial-grade materials that may cost a little bit more, but hold up better over the years (especially in musty basements!).

Users also love that this design is able to be adjusted to accommodate a wide variety of lifts. Simply move the backrest along the track to find the perfect incline or decline for your lifts. It’s a great option to use with just your body weight, or you can add additional weight to amp up the challenge!

If you are in the market for something that is affordable, durable, and built to last, this slant board is a great option. It may cost a little bit more than similar designs, but that’s because it is made from slightly more durable materials that are made to hold up a little better over the years.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Adjustability

Weider Fitness is typically user-centered in their design and implementation.

That means their engineers try to think of everything and are constantly able to introduce new models. The benefit to you is a product that will adapt to your home gym space and daily routine quickly, not something you will have to workaround.

We prioritized equipment with more adjustable features, leaving the smaller and simpler equipment for last. Nearly all of the Body Work units, benches, rack systems, and chest or ab stations we looked at will fit most users. But we have been honest when a unit has a drawback, such as a narrow bench or, limited resistance adjustments.

Ease of Use

It would be hard to name a Weider product that causes many difficulties.

That goes back to Weider's commitment and mission of putting customer needs first. The Body Work unit can be adjusted quickly. The Speedweights are called that for a reason. The benches have all their parts and stations arranged within easy reach, and you can instantly tell where to pull when you approach any Weider cable station.

We had to think a good bit about what does make one Weider system easier to use than another. In the end, we really think the number one Bodywork is the easiest. You just set it to the right length, sit down, and pull. The machine does the rest, and you get an efficient joint-friendly workout in just a little time.

A machine like the Body Work won't give you chiseled abs or help you with powerlifting, but it will help you maintain balance and avoid injury during your busy working life.

Features

Which features are actually must-haves for you?

Only you can answer that question, of course. We looked at the aggregate of consumer and commercial reviews for each of the ten Weider products to determine which ones had features that would appeal to the widest group of people.

Everyone wants to set the starting point of their bench press where they can reach and replace the bar. Not everyone needs or is interested in a bench that can incline or decline.

While no machine can be everything to everyone, we prioritized those that we felt could get the general fitness buff up and running the quickest, without having to dial in a lot of settings just for a quick morning workout.

Motion Control

Proper range of motion makes for a more efficient and beneficial exercise, while also protecting you from injury.

Since helping our readers is important to us, we put a lot of value into the range of motion and, by extension, motion control. One of the great things about most of Weider's products is that they are for everyone.

We suggested using the 265 weight bench as a starter pack, but the truth is even someone new to the gym could start using the XRS 20 sets after just a little training.

We are confident that the training, under the eye of an experienced mentor would be enough. That is because Weider makes all their equipment, including benches, in ways that encourage a full range of motion. The equipment we rated lower does not have many provisions, though, for motion control.

Always use caution when using cable stations, dumbbells, kettlebells, and units like the Door Gym. It is possible to get an injury without realizing it, only to exacerbate it later when you come back to the gym after a light or rest day.

Size

Space is always at a premium in your home, and nobody knows that better than Weider.

This is why we were a little surprised to see the Power Tower with a backward-facing pull-up bar. It is inconvenient, but it also needlessly adds to the Power Tower's footprint. We have seen plenty of similar units with the bar on the front, so we aren't sure why Weider didn't do this for their upper body conditioner.

Again, we were honest, giving the unit a lower rating because of this shortcoming. We are confident recommending the product to you, as it is Weider quality, but part of our role is to point out details that may make you regret a purchase decision.

So with the Power Tower, and with everything else we reviewed, we took the unit's overall size into consideration.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Adjustability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Features
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Motion Control
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Size
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Safe Squatting

It seems like more people are doing squats than ever before. And it's no wonder. There is no other exercise that works out as many muscle groups in a single rep. It is a functional exercise, as we often need to squat or kneel in our professional or personal lives. Done with consistent proper form, the squat can quickly make you stronger in a way few other exercises can.

One way to help yourself achieve and maintain that all-important form is by using a squat rack. These are large metal frames that hold an Olympic bar still for plate loading and collar securing. Then you can stand in front of the rack, place the barbell carefully on your shoulders, and perform your exercises.

However, you may have noticed, if you have ever looked at a gym grade squat rack, that it has safety bars coming off the floor. These bars are there to catch the bar, should you fail at the top or bottom of the rep. Your tendency will be to fall down under all that weight.

As you do, you can drop the bar on the safety bars, where it will stop before causing any further damage. The safety bars are similar to the emergency exit lane on a highway.

Since the safety bars are not included on all home gyms, we cannot stress enough that you have to keep the weight light when you squat at home. The removable uprights on a weight bench are not designed for weights above the unit's capacity. Don't take a chance on a serious injury that can keep you out of the lifting gym until you can recover.

Beware the Standard Set

We realize that standard bars and weight plates are more cost-effective than Olympic ones. And standard bars, with their lower weight ratings, are often suitable to teens or older preteens who are just getting started with lifting.

But if you plan on sticking with lifting, as a lifelong practice, we urge you to spend the extra money and get an Olympic set. This would be a bench that comes with an Olympic bar and plates.

The reason is that the weights made for Olympic sets will be of higher quality. They will last longer, and will often have better grip surfaces to reduce the chance of dropping one.

The bars are heavier and designed for better balance, so you will be less likely to have a tipping incident if you find one side of your body suddenly weaker than the other.

Also, it is almost impossible to upgrade a standard bench and set it to Olympic later on. If you start out with an Olympic set, you will not need to upgrade and you will be ready if you ever decide to pursue competitive lifting.

Other Factors to Consider

Application

For a unit to make our list, we had to be sure that it could do what it was designed to do. It has to be clear, from the name, packaging, and ad copy, what part of your body the unit is for and what aspects of fitness it will help with. So we included a slant bench, which is meant mostly for ab and some dumbbell exercises.

It is different from a flat, incline, or decline bench, which you can use to lift barbells. We made sure to add items with a variety of applications, while also ensuring the application of each unit is clear and that it will deliver on the results you are needing.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Is Weider a good brand?

a:

Don’t let the affordable price tag fool you! Weider is a brand that is owned by that same company that makes high-end machines from NordicTrack or ProForm, so you can feel good that you are selecting something that is made to last.

What users love most about this brand (aside from the affordable price point) is that it boasts a fairly simple construction that makes it easy to assemble without the need for pros, and holds up incredibly well over time.

q: Are Weider home gym machines as effective as free weights?

a:

We can positively say that, if you want to work a lot of muscle groups at once and save time at the gym, you should focus on free weights. The squat alone works your quads, thighs, glutes, hamstrings, back and core muscles. There aren't many machines that can do all that.

The pec deck, for example, can take up more time than a squat while only working the chest muscles. Weider and other manufacturers have tried to get around this by attaching multiple stations to the same frame, but you still end up spending more time working out as you move from station to station.

Of course, there are times when you will not want to work so many muscle groups. You may have a swollen ankle, wrapped in a compression sleeve, but are unwilling to miss a workout. In that case, you can easily find a machine that will work your upper body without getting the injured area involved.

The machines also do a better job of enforcing proper form. However, this can be a functional disadvantage if the machine limits your range of motion or emulates movements you would never do in real life. This is why manufacturers provide so many adjustments on machines, so you can start and stop at the place that will give you a full range of motion without causing you to hyperextend.

q: Are there any Weider home gym cardio machines?

a:

Yes. Weider makes mini steppers, indoor cycles, and other simple, lightweight cardio equipment.

However, strength training was always their focus. When we visited Weider's website, we could not find any current cardio equipment being promoted. In order to provide you with up to date information, we did not review any cardio equipment and stuck with what Weider has to offer currently.

q: Why would anyone buy a fixed weight dumbbell?

a:

Fixed weight dumbbells are a great choice for someone who primarily does cardio and wants to add a little more of a challenge. Holding neoprene covered dumbbells during step aerobics, even as low as three pounds, can make a difference and shouldn't be discounted. Lightweight fixed dumbbells are also good for physical therapy or rehabbing injuries, because the affected muscles may not be able to work on progressive resistance while they heal.

On the other end of the scale, very heavy, one-piece, iron dumbbells are great for powerlifters who have no need for a 20, 30, or 40-pound dumbbell. These athletes can often carry their own weight around a gym; they do not want to spend a lot of time loading down a dumbbell when they can just grab an iron one and go.

q: What were some of Joe Weider's accomplishments?

a:

In 1946, Weider founded the International Federation of Bodybuilders, which became the central body in charge of bodybuilding and fitness competitions. Today the group is known as The International Federation of Body Building and Fitness. Weider's leadership helped standardize bodybuilding competitions, leading to increased safety and better training.

Besides being the publisher of many influential magazines and writing several books about weightlifting, Weider acted as Arnold Schwarzenegger's trainer, helping Schwarzenegger win the Mr. Olympia crown six years in a row and laying the groundwork for the action star's film career.

Weider also helped equalize the male-dominated sport of weightlifting, when he founded the Ms. Olympia competition in 1980. And Joe Weider was an early adopter of vitamins and supplements as tools for weightlifting and overall health.

q: Why haven't you reviewed any Weider supplements?

a:

We didn't review the supplements because we wanted a single focus. With so many supplement suppliers on the market, Weider seems to have narrowed down their focus, too, on a few lines of free weights, home gyms, and bodyweight stacks. Our goal is always to stay consistent with a topic, and we also strive to provide you with the most up to date information.

Sources

  1. Erik Gregerson, Joe Weider, Web Encyclopedia
  2. Weider Staff, Weider Ultimate Body Work, Weider Official Website
  3. Allison Bowen, Home Workout Versus Gym Workout, Chicago Tribune Newspaper