to top 10 table

Cooling Vest Reviews – What’s All This Hype about Ice Vests?

last updated Jun 12, 2019

Purchasing a cooling vest for your work out routine is without a doubt the quickest, and most cost-efficient way to decrease recovery time and increase calories burned.

In this guide we will go over the types, benefits, and uses of cooling/ice vests.

If you are in a hurry and are just looking for some quick cooling vest reviews we have made it easy for you and listed our best cooling vests below:

A Quick Glimpse at the Top Cooling Vests

To make it easy for you to compare and contrast the best cooling vests, we have rated each of the Top products based on price and durability, and then give each one an overall rating out of 6. In the next section, we provide in-depth reviews of each product.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 9 hrs of research

icon
Techniche International HyperKewl Cooling Sports Vest
95.6/100 our score
Comfort
95
Durability
94
Ease of Use
96
Effectiveness
96
Value
97
Techniche International HyperKewl Cooling Sports Vest
Why is it better?

Hyperkewl evaporating material

Cool Pax technology

Water repellent inner

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Techniche International HyperKewl Cooling Sports Vest
Test Winner: Techniche International HyperKewl Cooling Sports Vest
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
18
Researched Sources
Reviews Considered
3k
Reviews Considered
Hours Researching
9
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
6
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Comfort Durability Ease of Use Effectiveness Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Comfort
95 %
Durability
94 %
Ease of Use
96 %
Effectiveness
96 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$36.62
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Comfort
93 %
Durability
92 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Effectiveness
93 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$99.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
Comfort
90 %
Durability
90 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Effectiveness
90 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$64.97
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Comfort
89 %
Durability
89 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Effectiveness
89 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$189.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Comfort
85 %
Durability
85 %
Ease of Use
87 %
Effectiveness
87 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$64.98
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
Comfort
82 %
Durability
83 %
Ease of Use
83 %
Effectiveness
82 %
Value
82 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$35.98
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.2
Comfort
79 %
Durability
80 %
Ease of Use
79 %
Effectiveness
79 %
Value
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$28.90
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Comfort
79 %
Durability
79 %
Ease of Use
79 %
Effectiveness
79 %
Value
79 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$219.00
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.8
Comfort
76 %
Durability
78 %
Ease of Use
78 %
Effectiveness
76 %
Value
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$27.14
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.4
Comfort
75 %
Durability
75 %
Ease of Use
76 %
Effectiveness
75 %
Value
76 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (20.09.19)
Amazon Link
$11.41

Top 10 Picks

1. Techniche International HyperKewl Cooling Sports Vest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.6
Techniche International HyperKewl Cooling Sports Vest
Amazon Link
Comfort
95
Durability
94
Ease of Use
96
Effectiveness
96
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$36.62
Pros:

Hyperkewl evaporating material

Cool Pax technology

Water repellent inner

Cons:

Cooling effect diminishes over time

The Techniche International HyperKewl Cooling Sports Vest makes use of the unique patented HyperKewl evaporating cooling material.

It slowly releases water to cool your body through evaporation. This process super charges the body against heat stress.

Read more

How it works:

This process supercharges the body against heat stress. Cool Pax technology allows you to enjoy pre and post exercise cooling. The Techniche vest is extremely lightweight, flexible, and durable. It has a v-neck and zipper, rather than velcro, enclosure so you get a secure front closing system.

Techniche International HyperKewl Cooling Sports Vest needs to be soaked for 5-10 minutes to provide 5-10 hours of cooling relief. It features a quilted nylon outer and a Hyperkewl fabric inner. A water repellant nylon inner and black polyester trim provide a stylish finish.

2. Flexi Freeze Ice Vest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Flexi Freeze Ice Vest
Amazon Link
Comfort
93
Durability
92
Ease of Use
94
Effectiveness
93
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$99.99
Pros:

Uses pure water

Very thin and lightweight

Neoprene fabric vest

Cons:

Velcro front fastener inadequate

The FlexiFreeze Ice Vest is an impressively thin, lightweight, durable and functional cooling vest. It makes use of flexi freeze re-freezable ice sheets in conjunction with 96 ice cubes housed in 3.5 pounds of contain-ability.

Sit snugly on the body and distributes a nice balanced cooling effect, while allowing you to work on those muscles.

Read more

How it works

This simple water option is a more effective cooling system than gel packs, so the FlexiFreeze will keep you cooler for longer. The neoprene fabric of the vest provides a soft, lightweight, and flexible insulator.

The lightweight make-up of the vest, which is less than one inch thick, provides a great deal of flexibility and mobility. Three removable panels are attached to the vest. When the ice sheets are removed, the vest can be machine washed.

All of this makes Flexifreeze the ideal choice for sports and exercise.

3. NHI Cooling Vest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.4
NHI Cooling Vest
Amazon Link
Comfort
90
Durability
90
Ease of Use
91
Effectiveness
90
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$64.97
Pros:

Lightweight

Moisture resistant

Breathable

Cons:

Cooling effect reduces with time

The NHI Cooling Vest is a lightweight, slimline design that incorporates four PCM cooling packs, less than 800gm with 4 fully loaded packs. The soft to the touch, durable material is breathable and moisture resistant.

Easy to prepare and sits comfortably on the body with excellent support at the shoulders, you can go about your training while staying cool for a prolonged period.

Read more

How it works

Made from very durable material, this vest will keep pace with the demands you put on it during workouts.

The cooling packs can be rapidly frozen in ice-cold water in 20-25 minutes.

The NHI Cooling vest comes with an insulated carry bag, which is ideal for keeping your packs nice and cool and ready to use when you need them.

This product comes with a 100% lifetime warranty.

4. Glacier Tek Sports Cool Vest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.4
Glacier Tek Sports Cool Vest
Amazon Link
Comfort
89
Durability
89
Ease of Use
90
Effectiveness
89
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$189.00
Pros:

Choice of hydration routing tubes

Lightweight

Weight distribution

Cons:

No built in cool storage

The Glacier Tek Sports Cool Vest provides you with a running vest with a built-in hydration system to maintain a dry and comfortable condition while working out or playing sports.

Designed to sit comfortably and hug the body even under active conditions and to give an excellent beneficial cooling effect while you run or push yourself at a sports activity.

Read more

How it works

The cooling pads powered by PureTemp recharge in just under 20 minutes in ice water, or you can keep them in the freezer for 1 hour to completely charge them. The vest is made from cool wicking mesh at the critical contact areas with your skin.

Glacier Tek Sports Cool Vest has been ergonomically designed to provide you with extra wide dual side elastic shoulder straps and can be easily adjusted by over the shoulders strap. It distributes the weight of the vest evenly across the upper body.

The Glacier Tek Sports Cool vest is a lightweight, minimalistic vest that is offered at an affordable price that provides a superior shape, construction, and fit. It is also available for children weighing between 30 and 90 pounds.

5. Ultimate Direction PB2.0

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Ultimate Direction PB2.0
Amazon Link
Comfort
85
Durability
85
Ease of Use
87
Effectiveness
87
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$64.98
Pros:

4 gel pack pockets

Quick reservoir access zipper

Stretch mesh

Cons:

Phone pocket not large enough

The Ultimate Direction PB 2.0 is a multi-purpose adventure vest that is ideal for running, hiking and skiing. It features four gel packs pockets to keep you cool and burn extra calories.

It is a good performing vest which goes to another level, yes it is designed for sports, but it is also able to be used on tough hiking trips, very comfortable and packs an excellent range of vest features.

Read more

How it works

There are two GPS and phone pockets, four electrolyte pockets and a pair of fully adjustable sternum straps. You’ll also appreciate the super soft Velvetex no-chafe binding material.

The Ultimate Direction PB 2.0 has a quick reservoir access zipper in the back, along with an internal bungee and gear separation panel. You also get secure lat pockets with secure stretch panels.

The use of stretch mesh has dramatically enhanced the durability of the vest, making it stronger and more durable.

6. HyperKewl Evaporative Cooling Deluxe Sport Vest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.4
HyperKewl Evaporative Cooling Deluxe Sport Vest
Amazon Link
Comfort
82
Durability
83
Ease of Use
83
Effectiveness
82
Value
82
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$35.98
Pros:

Maintains coolness for 5-6 hours

Crew neck style

Full zipper

Zipper pockets

Cons:

A strange odor until ’ broken in’

The Hyperkewl 6530 Evaporating Cooling vest makes uses of a unique hyperkewl fabric that provides a cooling effect for 5-6 hours.

This minimalist vest has been designed for comfort, with a crew neck style collar and full zipper down the middle.

Read more

How it works

Two zippered pockets keep your belongings safe and secure.

The Hyperkewl material will not bunch up or otherwise lose its shape or fit over time, unlike many lesser competitors. With this vest, you don’t have to contend with slimy residue, swelling gel, or crunchy chemicals.

You have a wide variety of sizes and colors to choose from.

7. Ergodyne Chill-Its 6665 Evaporative Cooling Vest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79.2
Ergodyne Chill-Its 6665 Evaporative Cooling Vest
Amazon Link
Comfort
79
Durability
80
Ease of Use
79
Effectiveness
79
Value
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$28.90
Pros:

Quilted design

Comfortable

Good shoulder support/padding

Secure front zip

Ease of Use

Cons:

You may need access to clean water during the day

This is a vest which claims to offer day-long coolness at an affordable price when thinking of sports, we are talking about cycling or other lighter sports, perhaps you would like to wear this if you are working outside in the heat.

This product requires full soaking in water, and it is ready for use. To top up the capability, find a water source and give it another soak.

The quilted design ensures a good capacity of water is held while also giving comfort, the vest is easily secured via a front zipper.

Read more

How it works

The vest is made from materials which soak up a good volume of water and these materials work in combination with the retained water to assist the body at regulating the temperature.

The vest is designed to distribute the effect over the top half of the body, and this serves as a core point for regulating temperature.

The materials are chosen for quality and performance and do work very well for holding water for temperature control.

The effectiveness for use all day long revolves around the level of activity and the need to find a clean water source you need to soak the vest for continued use. The water weight will be noticeable while you wear this, though not heavy to the point of discomfort

8. Ice Water Circulating Cooling Vest Tan Detachable Bladder

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
79
Ice Water Circulating Cooling Vest Tan Detachable Bladder
Amazon Link
Comfort
79
Durability
79
Ease of Use
79
Effectiveness
79
Value
79
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$219.00
Pros:

Very good coolness distribution

Secure FIT

Comfortable FIt

Good performance

Durability

Effective

Cons:

Preparation, though a good performance

A good design, a good method for distributing a cooling effect consistently. You get a detachable-bladder which holds near to two liters, the frozen water feeds coolness evenly over the upper half of the body.

This product is favored for sports and used by the military.
Designed in tubes supported by pumps, distribute cool water to regulate the body heat level.

The uses are multiple, medical, outside work under hot weather, sports, and the vest are designed to hug securely to the body.

Read more

How it works.

The bladder will hold two liters, so it should not be filled as you need to allow for the expansion when the water is frozen. The vest has robustly designed in tubes to distribute cool water, and the water is pumped.

The performance of the vest is without a doubt excellent, and so long as you have access to re-freezing the water, it can be used for long periods.

The materials used for making this product are innovative and ensure that the water remains cold enough over a good extended period.

It is a well-designed product which FITs securely and comfortably and takes a more innovative approach towards vests which regulate our body temperature.

9. HyperKewl 6529-KH-XL Evaporative Cooling Vest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
76.8
HyperKewl 6529-KH-XL Evaporative Cooling Vest
Amazon Link
Comfort
76
Durability
78
Ease of Use
78
Effectiveness
76
Value
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$27.14
Pros:

Comfortable

Easy to prepare

Durable

Good support at the shoulders

Cons:

For long use, be near a water source

A basic standard design which does offer effective, easy to use cooling power, the makers suggest for between 5 or up to 10 hours.

Quilted for comfort and water absorption, this vest gives convenience and ease for use.

Soak it, put it on, and it is working to keep you cool. Made from a blend of materials which ensure performance and durability.

Read more

How it works

The materials are a quilted construction, and the padding gives comfort while ensuring the vest can soak up a functional capacity of water. The quilt effect means that it will not dry out quickly and will retain water. Therefore the cooling effect is prolonged while the vest remains comfortable for wearing. The primary support of the vest is situated where it is needed over the shoulders.

A robust zip system closes the vest for comfort, and FIt and side panels will hold the vest securely in place.

Made from sixty percent Hyperkewl material and forty percent nylon, the durability factor is very good. For those looking for a vest which is easy to prepare and gives an excellent performance, this vest will hit the mark.

10. Radians Cooling Vest

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
75.4
Radians Cooling Vest
Amazon Link
Comfort
75
Durability
75
Ease of Use
76
Effectiveness
75
Value
76
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.41
Pros:

Comfortable

Ease of Use

Standard design

Durability

Cons:

No extra features

I am looking for a budget product which gives a decent performance.

It is the choice for you.

Constructed through three layers, with a quilt feature for absorption, This can be immersed in water, wear it, and you will get cooling benefits. There are not any extra features; the approach is standard, easy, and useful.

Read more

How it works

You get three layers with external quilted design, this can be work after soaking, and it will give a cooling effect in hot weather.

Just a minute or so and it is ready for water, immerse it in clean water, and you are ready. For continued support be near to a water source. The FIt is comfortable; the design is basic and user-friendly — zip up at the front for FIT.

This vest does work.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Comfort

Comfort means no distractions from your aims

We looked very closely at the comfort factor for these cooling vests.

When working out, running, hiking, or taking part in any sports activity, the last thing we want is constant distraction caused by discomfort. It is true to say that in a competitive sports event, you can be held back if you are constantly distracted by discomfort such as a badly fitting clothing item, friction against the skin caused by materials. Fittings, fasteners not staying secure, comfort must be a product which gives a good FIT, sits comfortably on the body and does not cause distractions.

We looked at how secure these products FIt, which features are designed in to ensure they sit comfortably on the body, do not work loose or start shifting around.

We looked at the materials used for making the cooling vest as we wanted evidence that these materials are gentle on the skin, that they allow breathability, that the materials do not retain moisture and then create wet friction on the skin.

We looked for secure support in the shoulder region because the shoulders carry most of the weight.

Our selection here passed our criteria for comfort and made their way into this guide to ensure a good choice of cooling vests.

Durability

Durability is a product which gives a good continuous performance.

Using our focused criteria for evaluation, we looked for durability in the materials to find evidence that these materials are capable of giving an excellent high level of continuous performance and not fail for the user at crucial moments.

We looked for evidence that the durable materials are friendly to the skin, allow ventilation and breathability, allowing sweat to evaporate, and very importantly, that the materials will not irritate the skin.

For containing ice, we looked to see that the materials can effectively hold the cooling capability and gently pass this on to the body. Stitching was checked wherever it is evident to ensure that robust, durable stitching has been used.

We checked to ensure that whichever type of faster used for closing up these vests, it has a design and functionality which sits within the aims of durable function.

This selection of vests sailed through in terms of acceptable durability when the cooling vests are used within the context for which they were designed.

Ease of Use

Ease of Use allows effective use

Ease of use was put under our criteria microscope; we wanted to see that regardless of the cooling system or method designed into the vest that it was easy to prepare and not time consumingly complicated.

Vests which we soak in water and then wear to help our bodies regulate temperature are an excellent choice and very easy for use provided that you are not taking part in a long drawn out sports activity under hot weather. If you are, then you need to plan and ensure that when the wet vest starts to dry out, you can get access to water to give it another soaking.

We checked that fasten and securing vests gave ease of use in that fasteners were easy to close up to secure the vest and unlikely to work loose during activity.

Ease of use for a cooling vest has a limited range of criterion, but that range is essential. We needed to confirm that preparing the colling functionality of the vest was easy, putting on and securing the vest is also easy and the vest wears comfortably and does not cause any distractions due to ill FIT or failure of performance for colling the body.

This impressive range of vests featured here, all gives a nice level of ease for use.

Effectiveness

Effectiveness assists performance and ensures comfort

Effectiveness in terms of offering cooling capability at a consistent rate for a given amount of time is significant.

The whole point of using a cooling vest is that it needs to be effective. With this thought in mind, we looked at the various options available for cooling vests.

We were impressed by ice gel packs when correctly prepared, they offer consistent cooling power, and it is fairly easy to know for how long the effect will continue. This method for cooling is excellent if the product says it works for around 5 hours; if adequately prepared, it will fulfill the promise.

Where water is frozen, and the vest has suitable insulation materials, the ice water system is extremally good and in many cases can outperform a vest cooled by gel packs.

We noted that the design for how the vests retain cooling capability, how the cooling factor is distributed to the body, the quality of the insulation pockets, these are all factors which decide just how effective the vest will be.

Through applying our criteria, we have come up with a very nice selection of effective cooling vests. Enjoy this selection and choose the model which best matches your sporting activity.

Value

Value is about money, materials, durability, comfort, ease of use, effectiveness, and performance

For value, we factored in all of our review criteria because the value is not only about the price we pay, or paying a lower price and hoping to get a good deal.

Firstly we did look at and cover the price we pay because this is foremost in the mind of all buyers, the prices placed against these vests did come over as standard and reasonable when factoring in all of the criteria for comparatively assessing these products.

As with any suitable product available on the market, we should look at companies which have established a strong, reliable reputation for producing products which meet the criteria used in this review and buying guide. With years of experience behind them, the resources to research and improve a p[roduct, known brand makers do offer a good range of tried, tested, trusted products, this can quickly be confirmed through reading customer feedback-reviews.

New manufacturers entering the market should not be ignored, but their product has to be carefully looked at to ensure it meets expected value and criteria.

This selection prepared for you does meet the broader range of the meaning of value.

Expert Interviews & Opinions

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
ico Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
ico Durability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
ico Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
ico Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#5
ico Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
expert tips icon
Maintainance

A cooling vest requires a degree of maintenance, this might seem strange but it is true.

Think about gel packs or ice packs, they are the core functionality for the vest, but over time they may wear or lose integrity, this falls under maintenance, so check that the product you choose can offer replacement gel or water packs.

Small but very important, look at the fastening systems designed into a vest, zippers, velcro, buttons, toggles, whatever they happen to be if they do wear and fail, can you source replacements?

Any features designed into the vest for support or adjusting for FIt need to be considered if the adjustable features fail, can you replace them or do you find that the vest fails for comfort and FIt when these features fail and cannot be replaced?

Take your time when making a choice for a cooling vest, compare the different products available on the market, look at criteria such as FIT, comfort, durability, effectiveness, and value but also factor in maintenance.

Be selective when choosing a vest

Think about which sport or activity you will be using the vest. Then carry out comparative research, you can do this easily online. Visit online stores, see the selection available, read customer reviews, both positive and negative.

Through some pure natural research, you are much more likely to select a product which gives you all the value points you want from a cooling vest.

Other Factors to Consider

Capacity

Capacity in this context means the source of the performance.

We factored in the criteria for capacity in the context of the source of the performance of the product. For the cooling vest, this means Gel Packs or Water.

Which gives better value and why it does, the gel packs are of course easy to prepare but so are water packs. Both options are good, and we felt that the performance of either is dependant on the broader design and features for the vest.

When an ice pack or gel pack is prepared, it needs to retain being cool while also distributing a cool effect to the body. It means that the pockets, or the cooling system housing the gel or ice source must be very well designed and have excellent insulation capability.

The better the pocket, pouch or holding system insulation, the longer the cooling effect will continue. It is a fact very well known to vest makers, and they all tend to reach to the very limits for the best insulation materials and designs.

Both ice and gel give an excellent performance; we found that how long the performance continues effectively will depend on the range of materials, insulation capability, and other features designed into the vest.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can good hydration work with the vest performance?

a:

Yes, it certainly will, when taking part in sports in warm weather conditions, a cooling vest can be very useful. However, you need to be responsible and ensure a balanced, appropriate amount of liquid intake to keep your body hydrated. It means that your bodies natural ability to regulate your temperature will be able to work in balance with the cooling vest.

q: Which food assist body hydration during sports?

a:

Before doing a challenging sport in warm weather, you should try food which contains a lot of water; this means vegetable, fruits are a favorite. These are natural foods, and the water content will be absorbed into your body and channeled to support your ability for your body to self-regulate overall body temperature.

q: How many vest options for coolling?

a:

You get two main options, the type of vest which can carry frozen packs of gel or water, these are effective though they do mean you carry more weight. The alternative is a vest designed from materials which when left to soak in water, the vest will offer a period where it can aid your body to regulate your temperature.

q: Which is best Gel or frozen water?

a:

The performance of water or gel when frozen is similar though many say frozen water last a bit longer. The performance of either will depend upon the design and the insulative qualities used for making the vest.

q: Which is best for Fit, a set size or adjustable?

a:

I would choose a cooling vest which has designed in features to allow me to adjust the vest for FIT. When enjoying active sports, you may change your body movements at times for flexibility; an adjustable vest is perfect in such situations.

q: Gels packs, are they easy to prepare?

a:

Yes, very easy, you need to have access to a fridge, place the packs in for the required amount of time and they are ready. It means excellent ease for preparation.